Reply To: What is the IUCN Red List?

AvatarAditya Sardana

The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species is a compendium of information on the species of plants, fungi and animals, which provides information on the taxonomy, conservation status, distribution, population, habitat and ecology, use and trade, threats, and conservation actions. The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species, also simply known as the IUCN Red List, is published by the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN).

The evaluation of the species included in the IUCN Red List is conducted using the stringent IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria. Following are the IUCN Red List Categories viz. – Extinct (EX), Extinct in the wild (EW), Critically endangered (CR), Endangered (EN), Vulnerable (VU), Near threatened (NT), Least concern (LC), Data deficient (DD), and Not evaluated (NE).

The following three categories, viz. – Critically endangered (CR), Endangered (EN), and Vulnerable (VU) are collectively described as the Threatened categories. A species listed in one or more of the threatened categories is considered as a threatened species.

Related Posts

Branches of Biology Depict Its Essence in Diversities!

The Exquisite Birds of Paradise – History and Mystery Deciphered!!

Porifera – The Biology of Sponges

What is a Gallery Forest?

What is Traditional System of Classification in Biology?

What is the Truth in Biological Sciences?